South Summit Council of Governments

The South Summit Council of Governments was created by the cities of New Franklin and Green to share certain services in order to reduce expenses and improve service delivery. The council is governed by a board that is made up of the mayors from Green and New Franklin.

This multi-government council gives member communities the ability to capture economies of scale and control, have meaningful input over policies and operation, and leverage higher quality of service.

Current Initiatives

The Council of Governments is currently providing emergency dispatch service to Green and New Franklin, while also servicing the Village of Clinton, Lakemore, and Coventry Township. This Dispatch Service will be directed by a Board of Directors including New Franklin Police Chief Dan Davidson, New Franklin Fire Chief Steve Leslie, Green Fire Chief Jeff Funai, and Green Captain Jason Marzilli.

The Council of Governments board has a contracted arrangement to have financials managed by Kim Baldwin, former Fire Chief from the City of Barberton, and Kathy Witwer, retired CPA from New Franklin.

Agendas and Meetings

Find the current agenda and view meetings at


Kim Baldwin
South Summit Dispatch Manager

(330) 896-6610