About Our Government

Form of Government

A Mayor/Council form of government replaced the Green Township Trustees on January 1, 1991, when all of what was formerly Green Township became the Village of Green, which was then subsequently declared the City of Green effective April 5, 1992.


The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the City and is responsible for carrying out and fulfilling the intent and purpose of all legislation duly passed by City Council. The Mayor is also the Safety Director and the Chief Conservator of the Peace within the City and shall see that all laws, resolutions, and ordinances are enforced.

In addition, the Mayor also serves as the contracting officer of the City and is responsible for directing the administration of all affairs of the city, as well as, the operation of all City Departments and Divisions. The Mayor may serve two successive four-year terms, after which he/she shall be ineligible for re-election until a period of not less than four years shall have elapsed.

City Council

Green City Council is comprised of seven members, who are elected from each of the City's four wards and three members that are elected at-large. The members elected from wards are known as Ward Council Members and the members elected from the City at-large are known as At-Large Council Members. All members of Council shall have the same rights, powers, and responsibilities subject to the provisions of Section 4.13 of the City Charter.

Funding Appropriation

Elected Council Members constitute the legislative body of the City and authorize the appropriation of funding, construction of public improvements, and legislation required for the preservation of public peace, health, welfare, and safety. Council Members may serve two successive four-year terms. During the Council's annual Organizational Meeting in January, Council Members elect a President, Vice-President, and a President Pro-Tem. The President of Council or, in his absence, the Vice President of Council, shall preside at all meetings of Council.

Ordinances & Resolutions

Ordinances and Resolutions may be recommended by the Mayor or by members of City Council. Every Ordinance or Resolution passed by Council is signed by the Clerk of Council and presented to the Mayor for approval. If the Mayor approves the legislation, he/she signs it and returns it to the Clerk of Council within 24 hours.

If the Mayor disapproves the piece of legislation, it must be returned, unsigned to the Clerk. If the Mayor does not sign or disapprove the legislation within ten days of passage by City Council, the Ordinance or Resolution shall take effect in the same manner as if it had been signed. A 2/3 vote of City Council is required to override the Mayor's veto.

City Charter

The original city charter was adopted by voters on November 3, 1992, and became effective on January 1, 1993. Following a review of the Charter during 1998, various amendments were adopted by voters on November 3, 1998 and again on November 2, 1999. Since then, the Charter is reviewed every seven years. The Mayor appointed a Charter Review Commission in 2005 and 2012. All meetings of the Charter Review Commission are open to the public. Please contact Sharon Salem, Charter Review Commission Secretary, for more information at 330-896-6603.

Viewing Ordinances & Charters

Copies of the City Codified Ordinances and Charter are available for reference in the Green Branch of the Akron Summit County Library, the City Administration Building, on the City Webpage, or by contacting the City's Law Department at 330-896-6615.